Connect with us


India Expresses Gratitude to US, UK, Luxembourg for Greetings to PM Modi on Re-Election


June 11 :
The Ministry of External Affairs expressed gratitude to US Secretary of State Antony Blinken, UK Foreign Secretary David Cameron, and Luxembourg Foreign Minister Xavier Bettel for congratulating Prime Minister Narendra Modi on his third consecutive term in office on June 11.

While expressing gratitude to Secretary Blinken, MEA spokesperson Randhir Jaiswal reaffirmed that the India-USA alliance is one of the world's most consequential, and that New Delhi is eager to continue building upon its success. We appreciate the kind words of congratulations sent to Prime Minister Narendra Modi by @SecBlinken on his electoral triumph. One of the world's most significant partnerships is that between India and the United States. According to his statement on X, India is eager to continue the upward trajectory of its Comprehensive Global Strategic Partnership by capitalising on the strong momentum in bilateral relations.

He thanked David Cameron and expressed India's anticipation of collaborating with the UK to realise the "multi-faceted partnership"'s full potential. To @David Cameron, I am grateful for the well-wishes you sent to Prime Minister Narendra Modi upon his election triumph. "India is excited to collaborate with the UK to fully realise the potential of our diverse partnership," Jaiswal said.

According to Jaiswal, India is eager to strengthen its bilateral relationship with Luxembourg. To FM @Xavier Bettel, I am grateful for the congratulations on PM @narendramodi's election that you offered. The spokesperson for the MEA expressed gratitude to the Luxembourg FM and stated that India is eager to further strengthen its bilateral relationship with Luxembourg. On Sunday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi renewed his oath for the third time in a row. At a solemn ceremony held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan, President Droupadi Mumu swore him and his fellow cabinet ministers into office. Dignitaries and heads of state from adjacent nations and the Indian Ocean Region were in attendance, further demonstrating India's dedication to the area.

With 293 seats, the BJP-led NDA secured a majority in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, marking their third consecutive victory. In the 543-member lower house, where the BJP has a majority of 272, the party gained 240 seats independently. Modi is notable for becoming the only prime minister to take the oath for a third straight term, following Jawaharlal Nehru.